Assembly races set for fall

Error message

  • Notice: Undefined index: taxonomy_term in similarterms_taxonomy_node_get_terms() (line 518 of /home/octimesherald/www/www/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
  • Notice: Undefined offset: 0 in similarterms_list() (line 221 of /home/octimesherald/www/www/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
  • Notice: Undefined offset: 1 in similarterms_list() (line 222 of /home/octimesherald/www/www/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
Aug. 14 primary will decide Oconto County sheriff

Times Herald Staff

State Rep. Jeffrey Mursau, R-Crivitz, will have a Democratic opponent this year for the first time since 2012.

Tim Comer of Niagara submitted nomination papers to challenge Mursau in the Nov. 6 election. Nomination papers with at least 200 valid signatures were due at the State Elections Commission office by 5 p.m. Friday.

Mursau is currently serving his seventh two-year term representing the 36th Assembly District — which includes much of northern Oconto County, including Gillett, Oconto Falls, Suring and Lena. He ran unopposed in 2014 and 2016.

State Rep. John Nygren, R-Marinette, will be challenged by Democrat Ken Holdorf, also of Marinette. He has been in the Assembly since 2007 and is Assembly co-chairman of the Legislature’s Joint Finance Committee.

Nygren’s 89th Assembly District includes much of eastern Oconto County, including the city of Oconto and the towns of Abrams, Little River, Little Suamico, Oconto, Pensaukee and Stiles.

State Rep. Gary Tauchen, R-Bonduel, who represents one ward in Oconto County (ward 5 in Pulaski), has three opponents in his quest for a seventh term. Richard Sarnwick of Shawano and William Switalla of Wittenberg will square off in a Democratic primary on Aug. 14, with the winner facing Tauchen in the general election.

Mike Hammond, a Libertarian Party candidate, will also challenge Tauchen.

As expected, Ed Janke and Todd Skarban filed papers to run for Oconto County sheriff. Both filed as Republicans, so the Aug. 14 election is the key contest. The winner in August will be unopposed on the Nov. 6 ballot. Sheriff Mike Jansen is retiring after 16 years.

Michael C. Hodkiewicz is running unopposed for another term as clerk of circuit courts. He has served in that position since 1990.