College Notes

Error message

  • Notice: Undefined index: taxonomy_term in similarterms_taxonomy_node_get_terms() (line 518 of /home/octimesherald/www/www/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
  • Notice: Undefined offset: 0 in similarterms_list() (line 221 of /home/octimesherald/www/www/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
  • Notice: Undefined offset: 1 in similarterms_list() (line 222 of /home/octimesherald/www/www/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).

Times Herald Staff

Marquette University

Laura Juszczyk of Sobieski has graduated from Marquette University, earning a Master of Education degree in educational policy and leadership.

Juszczyk was one of about 2,000 undergraduate and graduate students who received their diplomas May 20 at the Bradley Center in Milwaukee.

Rochester Institute of Technology

Kaitlyn Spaude of Little Suamico graduated from Rochester Institute of Technology with a Bachelor of Science degree in journalism. The university held its 133rd annual commencement celebration in May.

Spaude also made the RIT Dean’s List for the spring semester.

UW-River Falls

The University of Wisconsin-River Falls spring semester Dean’s List honoring 1,417 students has been released by Registrar Kelly Browning.

To be named to the Dean’s List, a full-time undergraduate must earn a grade point average of at least 3.5 on a scale of 4.0, or midway between an “A” and “B” average. Area students are listed below by hometown.

Abrams: Rachel Lambert, animal science

Gillett: Danielle Timm, animal science; Jacob Timm, agricultural education

Lakewood: Alisha Hendricks, biology

Lena: Kayla Sharboneau, biology

Oconto: Jordan Colby, mathematics

Sobieski: Garrett Clark, animal science

Suring: Faith Buhrandt, crop and soil science, food science and technology; Carly Christensen, animal science


Trent Lechleitner, of Suring, was named to the College of Letters and Science Dean’s List for the Spring 2018 semester at UWM. Lechleitner is a sophomore majoring in Chemistry/Pre-Dentistry.


The following students from the area graduated in May from University of Wisconsin-Stout in Menomonie. UW-Stout, Wisconsin’s Polytechnic University, has 48 undergraduate majors and 21 graduate programs, including one doctoral degree.

Abrams: Rebecca Doan, B.S., applied social science

Gillett: Shane Conley, M.S., rehabilitation counseling

Oconto: Elisa Boehmer, B.S., psychology

Suring: Calley Van Bellinger, B.S., business administration

UW-La Crosse

The following area students completed degree requirements at the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse on May 13.

Abrams: Beau Gueths, Bachelor of Science, exercise and sport science

Little Suamico: Ashley Allen, Bachelor of Science, marketing major

Sobieski: Joseph Hames, Education Specialist, school psychology; Ryan Scanlan, Bachelor of Science, exercise and sport science; Claire Tomashek, Bachelor of Science, exercise and sport science, highest honors

Bemidji State

Skylar Prentice, Sobieski, earned Dean’s List honors from Bemidji State University in Bemidji, Minn., at the conclusion of the Spring 2018 semester.

Silver Lake College

Theresa Nier, Sobieski, by virtue of being full time and earning a grade-point average of at least 3.5, was named to the Dean’s List at Silver Lake College of the Holy Family for spring 2018. She is a junior majoring in music performance and pedagogy.

Minnesota State College Southeast

Bradley Exworthy, Oconto, was named to the Spring Semester 2018 President’s List at Minnesota State College Southeast in Red Wing and Winona, Minnesota.