Football: Bo Krueger earns player of year honors in MONLPC

Error message

  • Notice: Undefined index: taxonomy_term in similarterms_taxonomy_node_get_terms() (line 518 of /home/octimesherald/www/www/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
  • Notice: Undefined offset: 0 in similarterms_list() (line 221 of /home/octimesherald/www/www/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
  • Notice: Undefined offset: 1 in similarterms_list() (line 222 of /home/octimesherald/www/www/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
Carriveau, Manns earn double honors in NEC

Gillett junior Bo Krueger runs for a touchdown against Menominee Indian early in the season. Krueger made the MONLPC-8 first team as a running back and was one of four offensive players of the year. (Times Herald file photo)

While no local football teams made deep postseason runs, that didn’t mean there was a shortage of local standout players on the gridiron. Several players from the Gillett, Oconto Falls, Suring and Lena/St. Thomas Aquinas Academy co-op football teams were recently honored for their strong play this fall with spots on all-conference teams.

Players were voted to all-conference teams by opposing conference coaches following the season.


The eight-man division of the MONLPC had plenty of strong teams in it, with Gillett battling to fourth place with a 5-3 record.

A big reason behind the Tigers’ success was the play of Bo Krueger. The junior was an all-conference first team selection as a running back and was one of four offensive players of the year in the conference. Krueger also landed on the honorable mention defense team as a linebacker.

“What made our season a big season was the coaching and the team not wanting to lose and never quitting through the whole season,” said Krueger.

Krueger finished the season with 1,255 yards and 22 touchdowns on the ground. He also caught a pair of touchdowns and returned three kickoffs for scores. On the defensive side of the ball, he recorded 53 total tackles, seven of which were for losses.

Helping lead the way for Krueger was junior offensive lineman Logan Block, who also made the first team. Block made the second team as a linebacker after leading the team with 93 total tackles, 15 of which were for losses. Block also recorded seven sacks, forced three fumbles and picked off two passes.

“It means a lot (to me),” Block said. “It just shows that all the work in the offseason is paying off.”

Senior defensive lineman Adam Anderson joined Block on the second team defense after posting 40 total tackles, eight of which were for losses.

Senior Tyler Lockstein and sophomore Jacob Burt each were named honorable mentions as offensive linemen while Lockstein also made the honorable mention team as a defensive lineman.

The Lena/STAA co-op posted a 3-5 record in conference play. Senior offensive lineman Tyson Marquardt was the only co-op player to make the first team.

“Being named first team all-conference means everything to me,” Marquardt said. “The last two years I really pushed for football to be my number one priority over all other sports. This meant countless hours in the weight room and many more hours with my coaches working on technique and skills training. To get to first team was a goal set from day one of freshman year football and to reach it was a great milestone for me on a journey that hopefully continues so that I can prove my worth.”

Marquardt helped lead the way for junior running back Trenton Telford, who made the second team. Junior receiver Colby Borchert earned a spot on the honorable mention list.

Junior defensive lineman Bryce Hosking, junior linebacker Brian Ermis, sophomore defensive lineman Richard Fieck and freshman defensive back Logan Shallow all were honorable mention selections for Lena/STAA.

North Eastern Conference

Looking to build an identity under first-year head coach Nick Bohl, Oconto Falls kept improving over the course of the season.

The Panthers earned a conference win over Clintonville — their first win since the middle of the 2016 season — to finish eighth.

Senior Dakota Carriveau and junior Mitchell Manns each earned recognition for their play on both sides of the ball. Carriveau made the second team as a running back and honorable mention team as an outside linebacker.

Manns was named to the second team as a utility player and honorable mention team as a defensive back.

“It feels great to be named all conference and I’m just happy that I was able to help my team out this season,” Manns said.

Senior Kade Brabant was named an honorable mention as a defensive back.


Playing in its final season as an 11-man program, Suring made the season a memorable one by finishing 3-3 in the MONLPC-Small to earn a spot in the postseason.

Junior Logan Stuart was an impact player wherever he played, garnering first team honors as a linebacker and punter, second team honors as a running back and honorable mention recognition as a placekicker.

Senior receiver Mitchell Stegeman also landed on the first team. Senior lineman Reece Garrigan made the second team on both sides of the ball.

Sophomore offensive lineman Leo Taylor, sophomore defensive back Kegyn Lambrecht, senior linebacker Josh Reed and junior defensive end Chad McVeigh all earned second team honors. Senior offensive lineman Jeffrey Miller made the honorable mention team.