Spring election ballots set

Error message

  • Notice: Undefined index: taxonomy_term in similarterms_taxonomy_node_get_terms() (line 518 of /home/octimesherald/www/www/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
  • Notice: Undefined offset: 0 in similarterms_list() (line 221 of /home/octimesherald/www/www/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
  • Notice: Undefined offset: 1 in similarterms_list() (line 222 of /home/octimesherald/www/www/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
Only one primary expected in the county

Warren Bluhm, wbluhm@newmedia-wi.com

A primary election will be held Feb. 19 in the Pulaski School District, which emerged as the most competitive local race after nomination papers were submitted last week.

Trina Townsend, Zone 1, is not seeking re-election to the Pulaski School Board. There will be a primary for the three candidates who are vying for that seat, with the top two vote getters advanceing to the April 2 general election.

Candidates had until 5 p.m. Jan. 2 to submit the necessary documentation to get on the spring election ballot. The deadline was extended in the town of Lakewood, where an incumbent supervisor who is not running for re-election failed to submit a Declaration of Noncandiacy as required by state law. Candidates had until the close of business Monday to file papers for Lakewood Town Board.

County Clerk Kim Pytleski said many voters around Oconto County will see just one candidate running for each available seat on their city councils or village, town and school boards. Candidates are being challenged in only a handful of communities and races.

• Oconto Falls School Board – Incumbent board members Ron Leja and Tracey Krumrei are running for re-election, with two challengers, Sharon Stodola-Eslien and Randy Vann.

• Pulaski School Board – Brian Chlopek, Sarah Brunette and Patrick Lara are all running for Townsend’s seat in Zone 1, representing the village of Pulaski.

• Oconto School Board – Running for two available seats are incumbent Kristine Alwin and challengers Maria L. Cruz Roberts, John A. Windross and James Stiloski.

• Gillett City Council – In Ward 3, Alderperson Irene Drake is challenged by Debbie Rudie.

• Suring Village Board – Longtime Village President Jay Tousey is running for trustee and will be on the ballot with incumbents Harvey Miller and James Kohlwey and challengers Angie Whiting and Amber P. Wozniak.

• Brazeau Town Board – There are three candidates for two supervisor seats, incumbent Gerald Kempka and challengers Jean Grosse and Randy Nasgovitz.

• Lakewood Town Board – Supervisor Lee Spletter is not running for re-election; voters will pick two of three candidates: incumbent Tom Haberstein and challengers Ray Gardebrecht and Christopher Thomson.

• Lakewood Treasurer – Incumbent Virginia Nelson is challenged by Nancy Gardebrecht.

• Little Suamico Town Chairman – Incumbent Elmer Ragen faces opposition from Frank Nowak.

• Mountain Town Board – With Supervisor Lindor “Skip” Maletzke III running unopposed for town chairman, three non-incumbents are running for the two supervisor seats: Brenda Carey-Mielke, Joe Pelishek and Kenneth Ermis Jr.

• Pensaukee Town Clerk – Incumbent Jackie Manning will be opposed by Jody Samuelson-Liegeois.

• Stiles Town Board – Supervisor No. 2 Melissa Wellens is challenged by outgoing town treasurer Laurie Parisey.

• Stiles Town Treasurer – Jo Ann Usiak and Tanya M. Peterson are seeking the open position.

• Townsend Town Board – Incumbent Supervisors Linda Adamczyk and Dan Martin are challenged by Larry VanEperen and Claude Bowman.