Gillett forensics brings hardware home

Error message

  • Notice: Undefined index: taxonomy_term in similarterms_taxonomy_node_get_terms() (line 518 of /home/octimesherald/www/www/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
  • Notice: Undefined offset: 0 in similarterms_list() (line 221 of /home/octimesherald/www/www/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
  • Notice: Undefined offset: 1 in similarterms_list() (line 222 of /home/octimesherald/www/www/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).

The Gillett High School forensics team visits the state Capitol during its trip to the state tournament in Madison. Front row from left, Marissa Klein, Serenity Corona, Elizabeth Ciancio, Sylvia Hansen, Sia Billington and Jerika Heroux; second row, Joslyn Sexton, Brianna DeBauch, Emily Umentum and Angela Guzman; third row, Kallie Frank, Sydney Young, Meredith Hansen, Jenna Woelfel, Hannah Simpson and Lizzie Tebo; fourth row, KayLee Huebner, Ana Grover, Alaina Herzog, Aubrey DeBauch, Valerie VandeCorput, Bailey Pedersen and Lars Grover; top row, Anastasia Lizarraga, Derek Hanson, Cole Watts, Riley Engebretsen and Connor Hanson. (Contributed photo)

Members of the Gillett High School forensic team represented their school well in the Wisconsin High School Forensics Associate State Event, held April 12-13 at the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

Students who scored a perfect 25 out of 25 possible points received a gold medal. Eleven top performers from Gillett earned this prestigious “Critics Choice Award,” including Anastasia Lizarraga, Sia Billington, Sydney Young, Ana Grover, Abby Peterson, Jenna Woelfel, Lizzie Tebo, Aubrey DeBauch, Brianna DeBauch, Valerie Vande Corput and Lars Grover.

Students who scored 23 or 24 points received a silver medal; 11 Gillett students earned this “All-State Award.” They are Jerika Heroux, Angela Guzman, Kallie Frank, Serenity Corona, KayLee Huebner, Emily Umentum, Elizabeth Ciancio, Sylvia Hansen, Riley Engebretsen, Derek Hanson and Connor Hanson.

Those achieving a score of 21 or 22 out of 25 received a bronze medal. Five Gillett students received the “Finalist Award” — Cole Watts, Marissa Klein, Joslyn Sexton, Hannah Simpson and Alaina Herzog. Bailey Pedersen received a small bronze with a score of 19.

The Gillett forensic team coaches are Tami McQuillan, Stephanie Spang and Don Olderman.