Gillett FFA hosts annual banquet

Error message

  • Notice: Undefined index: taxonomy_term in similarterms_taxonomy_node_get_terms() (line 518 of /home/octimesherald/www/www/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
  • Notice: Undefined offset: 0 in similarterms_list() (line 221 of /home/octimesherald/www/www/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
  • Notice: Undefined offset: 1 in similarterms_list() (line 222 of /home/octimesherald/www/www/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).

Award winners and officers were honored at the Gillett FFA banquet May 5. Pictured are, front row, from left, Phillip Heroux, Emily Hairapetian, Elizabeth Ciancio, Haley Giese and Thayne Bjelland. Back row is FFA adviser Michele DeBauch, Matthew Rost, Blake Goodreau, Tani Lucht and Grace Wickman. (Contributed photo)

To celebrate this year’s accomplishments of the Gillett FFA, the chapter held a banquet May 5 at Romy’s Holiday Inn, Kelly Lake. Twenty members and 42 friends, family members and guests attended the awards ceremony. Amelia Hayden, Wisconsin FFA state president, was the guest speaker.

There were many awards given to celebrate the past year of accomplishments within the chapter. Discovery Degree recipients were Bradin Bjelland, Ben Matczak, Dylan Nelson, Shelby Otto and Emma Walker.

Laney DeBauch was named the 2019 Outstanding Middle School Member.

Greenhand Degree recipients included Alex Baldwin, Thayne Bjelland, Tani Lucht and Juniper Schaefer. The 2019 Star Greenhand award was presented to Thayne Bjelland.

Chapter Degrees recipients were Jack Arneson, Elizabeth Ciancio, Aubrey DeBauch, Haley Giese, Emily Hairapetian, Dean Hillesland, Sativa Krueger, Myriah Marohl, Wyatt Nelson, Cassandra Peters, Matthew Rost, Karissa Schaal, Rory Skinkis and Valerie VandeCorpet.

The 2019 FFA Scholastic Award winners were freshman Tani Lucht, sophomore Myriah Marohl, junior Grace Wickman and senior Crystal Zempel.

The Dekalb Award was presented to Justin Engebretsen, who also won the Gillett FFA Alumni scholarship in the amount of $500.

Honorary FFA memberships were awarded to Erin Buhrandt and Rick and Karen Herzog.

The banquet concluded with the announcement of the 2019-20 Gillett FFA officer team: Grace Wickman, historian; Phillip Heroux, parliamentarian; Blake Goodreau, sentinel; Elizabeth Ciancio and Haley Giese, reporters; Thayne Bjelland, treasurer; Tani Lucht, secretary; Matthew Rost, vice president; and Emily Hairapetian, president.